Kennesaw State University.
- Detection status
- Turnitin listed as available including its AI features and enabled in D2L Brightspace; iThenticate for research papers; Respondus Monitor proctoring
- Office in these sources
- Department of Student Conduct and Academic Integrity (SCAI) · Willingham Hall, Suite 230, 420 Bartow Avenue, Kennesaw, GA 30144 · 470.578.3403 · scai@kennesaw.edu
- Ombuds or advocacy office
- Office of the Ombuds — KSU states the office “serve[s] all members of the campus community and provides confidential, impartial, informal, and independent services,” and that it “operates informally, has no authority or role in any formal process on campus” · 470-578-7773 · ombuds@kennesaw.edu · campus.kennesaw.edu — Office of the Ombuds
- Sources last checked
- Aug 29, 2026
Reproduced from the institution’s own pages quoted below — potentially relevant official sources, not a determination of which one governs any case.
KSU's published sources on AI detection and academic integrity, quoted and linked below. These are potentially relevant official sources, not a determination of which one governs any case. KSU's own hierarchy runs from the Student Codes of Conduct and the SCAI Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures down to the individual syllabus: the Code makes unauthorized use of artificial intelligence a form of cheating while stating that authorized use “is subject to the stated course instructors’ policy as described in a course syllabus or/and in class discussions,” and UITS tells students to “[a]lways check your syllabus before using AI for academic work.” KSU is part of the University System of Georgia, and some of the procedural language in its documents restates USG Board of Regents standards; where a KSU document draws a scope line, that line is quoted here rather than smoothed over. Confirm applicability with the institution. Any dates are quoted from the sources, not a deadline calculation performed for you.
AI detection is in use at KSU, and more than one tool is documented
Turnitin, including its AI features. KSU's University Information Technology Services lists Turnitin among the “AI Tools Currently Available Through KSU,” under the heading “Turnitin (AI Features)” (page metadata dated Jul 17, 2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026):
Source: Additional AI Resources — University Information Technology Services. No first-party KSU page located in this review names Turnitin's AI writing indicator as a distinct product or states whether that indicator is switched on for KSU assignments; what KSU publishes is the entry above and the D2L integration described next.
Where Turnitin runs. KSU documents Turnitin as one of the technologies integrated with its D2L Brightspace learning management system (page metadata dated Jul 29, 2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026):
Source: Integrated Technologies — D2L Brightspace. UITS's instructional-resources catalogue lists instructor how-to articles titled “How to Enable Turnitin Within D2L Brightspace,” “How to review the Turnitin Similarity Report in D2L Brightspace,” and “How to View the Turnitin Originality Report for a Submitted D2L Brightspace Assignment,” which is how KSU describes the tool being switched on for an assignment: Instructional Resources — UITS (page metadata dated Aug 7, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026). SCAI's own faculty-and-staff page lists “TurnItIn.com” among the resources it points instructors to (page metadata dated Jun 24, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026): Student Conduct Faculty & Staff.
What KSU says about the weight of an AI-detection result. KSU's own news service published a 2024 feature carrying statements from Anissa Vega, associate vice provost, and from Lauren Law, professor of English and director of KSU's First Year Composition program (page metadata dated Aug 21, 2024; retrieved Aug 27, 2026):
Source: Kennesaw State embraces AI as valuable tool for students, researchers — KSU News. This is a university news feature rather than a policy document, and it is quoted here because it is the only first-party KSU page located in this review that addresses the evidentiary weight of an AI-detection result. The same feature records Vega as saying, “We never pursued the idea of not allowing it across the institution,” and no KSU page located in this review disables or withdraws AI detection.
iThenticate, for research papers. UITS's software catalogue lists a second Turnitin-family tool with a different scope and a separate account (page metadata dated Jun 25, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026):
Source: Software Downloads — University Information Technology Services. KSU describes iThenticate as a plagiarism tool and states no AI-writing-detection capability for it; its scope as published is research papers, not general undergraduate coursework.
The proctoring stack. KSU's D2L integration page also documents Respondus LockDown Browser and Respondus Monitor (page metadata dated Jul 29, 2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026):
Source: Integrated Technologies — D2L Brightspace. The same page records that Respondus Monitor “now supports three sensitivity levels, configurable by the instructor,” and links the vendor's own material on its machine-learning flagging. KSU states no AI-writing-detection capability for Respondus; it is recorded here because a reader whose case began with a flagged exam recording rather than a submitted essay needs to find the tool named.
Third-party tools KSU lists but does not deploy. The same UITS page that lists Turnitin also carries a longer list of tools — ChatGPT, Grammarly (AI Features), Perplexity, Quizlet and others — under a heading that reads: “These tools are not supported by KSU, nor is their use endorsed by the university. They are listed here as informational resources.” None of those entries is a KSU deployment, and none of them is an AI detector.
What was searched and came back empty. No first-party KSU page was located in this review naming Copyleaks, GPTZero, Originality.ai, Winston AI, Crossplag, ZeroGPT, Packback, Grammarly Authorship, Honorlock, Proctorio, Examity, or Turnitin's SimCheck or Originality product names. That sweep covered those vendor names on kennesaw.edu, the D2L Brightspace integrated-technologies catalogue, the UITS software-downloads and instructional-resources catalogues, the UITS AI pages, the University Libraries' technology FAQ, and the SCAI pages and procedures document. No campus-wide KSU statement enabling or disabling Turnitin's AI writing indicator specifically was located across those same pages.
Hierarchy, in KSU's words. The Code's cheating provision states: “Unauthorized use of artificial intelligence is another form of cheating. Authorized use of artificial intelligence is subject to the stated course instructors' policy as described in a course syllabus or/and in class discussions.” UITS reproduces that passage under its student guidance and adds, “Always check your syllabus before using AI for academic work.” Source: AI Use Guidelines — UITS (page metadata dated Aug 19, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026), quoting the KSU Student Codes of Conduct. A syllabus and its assignment instructions are therefore among the relevant sources for any particular situation.
What KSU's own pages say about how cases proceed
- Who may be present
- “The student may request an advisor (see procedure above) be present during the informal or formal meeting. However, the accused student must sign a FERPA waiver allowing the advisor to be present, and such parties may not participate in the informal meeting in any way except at the direct request of the accuser and/or facilitator.” The procedure cross-referenced there states that a party “shall have the right to have an advisor (who may or may not be an attorney) of the party’s choosing, and at their own expense, for the express purpose of providing advice and counsel.” — Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures, SCAI, “Who May Attend” under the academic misconduct informal meeting (no on-page date displayed; filename dated 11.2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026). Whether an academic-misconduct meeting may be recorded is not stated in the sources reviewed: the document’s only reference to audio or video recording of proceedings sits in the section on non-academic student misconduct, which states “These procedures apply to matters relating to student misconduct, except matters relating to academic dishonesty, which are covered under separate institutional policies.” · SCAI Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures (PDF)
- What follows on the record
- Not stated in the sources reviewed. KSU publishes no transcript-notation provision, no retention period, and no disclosure rule for academic-integrity findings on the pages searched. What the procedures do say is that the question is referred to the office: “If the student has questions on record retention those questions can be forwarded to SCAI.” The same document states that a completed academic misconduct incident form is sent to SCAI “to create a formal disciplinary record and/or initiate a formal meeting process, as appropriate to the case.” Searched for this row: the SCAI Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures (every occurrence of “transcript,” “retention,” “retain,” “expunge” and “record”), the KSU Student Codes of Conduct, the SCAI FAQs, students and faculty pages, and the Registrar’s Student Academic Records pages. — Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures, SCAI (no on-page date displayed; filename dated 11.2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) · SCAI Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures (PDF)
The two questions an adviser raises first, answered from this institution’s own published documents — or recorded as not stated in them.
From the SCAI Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures and the Code of Academic Integrity it carries (no on-page date displayed; filename dated 11.2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026):
Source: Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures — SCAI. The document also states, for cases where the informal route ends without agreement, that “the accuser or facilitator explains that the case cannot be resolved informally, and that it will be referred to SCAI for a formal meeting,” and that where suspension, expulsion or revocation of degree is assigned, “there is the possibility of appeal” and “information on how to appeal will be included in the decision letter sent to the accused student.”
Two scope lines in that same document are worth reading in the original rather than through a summary. The general student-conduct standards, which are where the advisor right, the investigation standards and the documentation-of-proceedings language sit, carry their own limit: “These procedures apply to matters relating to student misconduct, except matters relating to academic dishonesty, which are covered under separate institutional policies.” The academic-misconduct section nonetheless imports the advisor procedure by cross-reference, which is the basis for the row above. KSU's SCAI FAQs separately state, of conduct meetings generally, that a parent or attorney may attend “with your written permission,” but that “they are permitted only as Advisors and are not permitted to ask questions or make statements once the hearing begins” (page metadata dated Jan 6, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026): Student Conduct and Academic Integrity FAQs.
Located but not captured as quotation in this review: the composition and jurisdiction rules for the SCAI University Hearing Panel, the interim-measures provisions, and the Board of Regents discretionary-review route that follows a final institutional decision. These sit in the same procedures document, which runs past a hundred pages in its published form. What any of this means for a particular case is for the institution and its process to determine.
Where the documents live
| Document | Location |
|---|---|
| Department of Student Conduct and Academic Integrity (landing page) | campus.kennesaw.edu — SCAI (page metadata dated Aug 24, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures (academic misconduct process, preponderance standard, advisor provision, appeal grounds) | scai-misconduct-procedures-11.2025.pdf (no on-page date displayed; filename dated 11.2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| KSU Student Codes of Conduct (cheating provision, including artificial intelligence) | ksu-student-code-of-conduct-10-24.pdf (retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Student Conduct and Academic Integrity FAQs | campus.kennesaw.edu — SCAI FAQs (page metadata dated Jan 6, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Detector — Turnitin, including its AI features (UITS list of AI tools available through KSU) | campus.kennesaw.edu — Additional AI Resources (page metadata dated Jul 17, 2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Detector — Turnitin and Respondus Monitor as integrated with D2L Brightspace | campus.kennesaw.edu — Integrated Technologies (page metadata dated Jul 29, 2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Detector — Turnitin enablement and report how-to articles for instructors | campus.kennesaw.edu — Instructional Resources (page metadata dated Aug 7, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Detector — iThenticate (research papers; separate account) | campus.kennesaw.edu — Software Downloads (page metadata dated Jun 25, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Evidentiary weight of AI-detection output, in KSU's own words | kennesaw.edu/news — Kennesaw State embraces AI as valuable tool (page metadata dated Aug 21, 2024; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| AI use guidelines, and the Code's cheating provision on artificial intelligence | campus.kennesaw.edu — AI Use Guidelines (page metadata dated Aug 19, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Turnitin, as described by University Libraries | libanswers.kennesaw.edu — What is Turnitin? (page dated Nov 5, 2025; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Office of the Ombuds (confidential, impartial, informal, independent; serves students, faculty and staff) | campus.kennesaw.edu — Office of the Ombuds · 470-578-7773 · ombuds@kennesaw.edu (page metadata dated Feb 2, 2026; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| Record retention and the disciplinary record (referral of the question to SCAI; no transcript-notation or retention provision located) | scai-misconduct-procedures-11.2025.pdf (no on-page date displayed; retrieved Aug 27, 2026) |
| SCAI office contact | Willingham Hall, Suite 230, 420 Bartow Avenue, Kennesaw, GA 30144 · 470.578.3403 · scai@kennesaw.edu — from the office's contact page, retrieved Aug 27, 2026 |
Organizing your own drafts and records to bring to any of this: the records checklist. Capturing the pages above as they read today, and keeping your own dated record beside them: what to do with these sources.
Revision history of this page
2026-08-27 — Page created. All quotations retrieved this date from the kennesaw.edu pages linked beside them, each fetched directly rather than read from a search result. Source page dates, taken from each page's own modification metadata: Additional AI Resources, Jul 17, 2025; Integrated Technologies (D2L), Jul 29, 2025; Instructional Resources, Aug 7, 2026; Software Downloads, Jun 25, 2026; AI Use Guidelines, Aug 19, 2026; SCAI FAQs, Jan 6, 2026; SCAI contact page, Apr 28, 2026; SCAI landing page, Aug 24, 2026; Office of the Ombuds, Feb 2, 2026; KSU News feature, Aug 21, 2024. The University Libraries FAQ carries an on-page date of Nov 5, 2025. The SCAI Misconduct Policies and Resolution Procedures PDF displays no date on its face; its filename is dated 11.2025 and the page is cited that way rather than asserting an effective date KSU does not print. Detection sweep. Named-vendor sweep on kennesaw.edu returned Turnitin (listed by UITS under “Turnitin (AI Features)” among AI tools available through KSU, and integrated with D2L Brightspace), iThenticate (UITS software catalogue, scoped to research papers, separate account), and the Respondus stack (LockDown Browser and Monitor, documented as automated proctoring, with no AI-writing-detection claim made by KSU). The following came back empty on KSU's own domain: Copyleaks, GPTZero, Originality.ai, Winston AI, Crossplag, ZeroGPT, Packback, Grammarly Authorship, Honorlock, Proctorio, Examity, and Turnitin's SimCheck and Originality product names. Category sweep covered the D2L Brightspace integrated-technologies catalogue, the UITS software-downloads and instructional-resources catalogues, the UITS AI section, the University Libraries technology FAQ, the SCAI pages, and the SCAI procedures document; the Graduate College's own thesis and dissertation pipeline was not separately reachable in this review beyond the UITS iThenticate entry, so no graduate-scoped detector claim is made here. No first-party KSU statement on Turnitin's AI writing indicator as a distinct product was located, and the page says so rather than importing the vendor's description. Deliberate omissions. The UITS “Additional AI Tools” list — ChatGPT, Grammarly, Perplexity and others — is recorded as third-party listing rather than deployment, on the strength of KSU's own line that those tools “are not supported by KSU, nor is their use endorsed by the university”; none of them is an AI detector. No commentary on litigation or news coverage is included. Divergence reproduced without resolution. KSU publishes two different locations for SCAI: the FAQs page (page metadata Jan 6, 2026) states “Carmichael Student Center, 2nd floor, room 274,” while the office's own contact page (page metadata Apr 28, 2026) states Willingham Hall, Suite 230, 420 Bartow Avenue. The docket and source map use the contact page as the office's own and more recent statement; the FAQ text is recorded here rather than silently dropped. Both pages give the same phone number, 470.578.3403. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter (review confirmed 2026-08-27).
2026-08-27 — Internet Archive captures: to be added.
2026-08-29 — Sources re-fetched and compared this date; an automated source re-verification, not a human editorial review. Every first-party source linked here was fetched again and compared against the page: the UITS AI-resources, integrated-technologies and instructional-resources pages, the SCAI faculty/staff, FAQ, landing and contact pages, the KSU-embraces-AI news feature (still dated Aug 21, 2024), the software-downloads page (iThenticate), the AI guidelines page, the Student Code of Conduct PDF, the SCAI Misconduct Procedures PDF (scai-misconduct-procedures-11.2025.pdf), the library integrity guide (still Last Updated Nov 05, 2025) and the Ombuds page. All quotations still present verbatim and all stated dates intact. One housekeeping finding, recorded for a future citation migration rather than acted on this pass: the SCAI landing page now links a newer-filename procedures document, misconduct-procedures-ay-8.2026.pdf, whose quoted language matches this page's citations; the scai-misconduct-procedures-11.2025.pdf this page cites throughout section 02 and the source map remains live and its quotations verify verbatim, so no link was changed. Detection sweep re-run: no net-new detector and no disable or recommend-against — Turnitin (with its AI features, in D2L Brightspace), iThenticate (research papers) and Respondus LockDown Browser with Monitor remain the documented tools. SCAI contact and the Ombuds office confirmed unchanged (the FAQ still carries the Carmichael Student Center address divergence the build recorded). Internet Archive captures were requested this date but Save Page Now was unavailable and rate-limited from this environment; captures remain to be added. Automated research pass.
Spot an error or an outdated quotation? hello@gatheredwork.com — corrections are made on the record, in this log.