Missouri State University.
- Detection status
- Turnitin is documented as plagiarism detection instructors can enable per assignment in Brightspace, and Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor for exam proctoring; no Missouri State page located in this review states that Turnitin's AI writing indicator is enabled, disabled or in use, and the university's own faculty AI guidance names no detection tool at all
- Office in these sources
- Academic Integrity (Academic Integrity Council; responsible office, the Office of the Provost) · 901 S National Ave, Springfield, MO 65897 — no building or room is published · 417-836-6673 · AcademicIntegrity@MissouriState.edu · appeals and timing: AcademicIntegrityCouncil@MissouriState.edu
- Ombuds or advocacy office
- The Ombuds Office, Office of the President — its own page describes it as “An informal, confidential, impartial and independent resource for employees and students,” states “We report directly to President's office,” and sets out limits worth reading before relying on it: the office states it does “not participate in grievance processes or conduct investigations” and that it “does not advocate.” No central office phone number and no office location are published; the page publishes an office email and two named representatives with their own numbers. Ombuds@MissouriState.edu · Chris Herr 417-576-6444 · Mary Bohlen 417-771-0102 · missouristate.edu — The Ombuds Office
- Sources last checked
- Aug 31, 2026
Reproduced from the institution’s own pages quoted below — potentially relevant official sources, not a determination of which one governs any case.
Missouri State's published sources on AI detection and academic integrity, quoted and linked below. Two scope points shape what a reader is looking at. Missouri State is a separate institution from the University of Missouri and its system, and nothing on this page derives from either. And a single policy — the Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures — governs both undergraduate and graduate students here, with the university's faculty AI guidance leaving the rules for a given course to that course's syllabus, so syllabi and assignment instructions are among the governing documents. These are potentially relevant official sources, not a determination of which one governs any case; confirm applicability with the institution. Any dates are quoted from the sources, not a deadline calculation performed for you.
What is documented — and what isn't
Two tools appear on Missouri State's own pages as things the university provides, and neither of them is documented as an AI-writing detector. The gap between those two statements is the finding on this page, so it is set out plainly rather than left to inference.
Turnitin — plagiarism detection in Brightspace, instructor-enabled
The Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning's Brightspace assessment-tools page states (page's own modified date April 23, 2026; retrieved Aug 31, 2026):
Source: Assessment Tools — FCTL Brightspace Resources. That is the tool, the place it runs and the person who turns it on. What the page does not say — and what no other Missouri State page located in this review says — is whether Turnitin's AI writing indicator is part of the deployment, who would see its output, or what weight that output would carry.
Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor — exam proctoring
The same page states (page's own modified date April 23, 2026; retrieved Aug 31, 2026):
Source: Assessment Tools — FCTL Brightspace Resources. This is exam lockdown, webcam proctoring and exam authoring; the pages make no AI-writing-detection claim for any of it, and no first-party statement on the weight a Monitor flag carries was located.
The university's own AI guidance names no detector
Missouri State's central faculty AI page is FCTL's “Teaching with AI” (page's own modified date April 22, 2026; retrieved Aug 31, 2026). It is syllabus-policy and assignment-design guidance throughout, and it mentions no detection tool, no detector and no detection score. Its one integrity-adjacent line is a sample syllabus statement offered to instructors:
Source: Teaching with AI — FCTL. The Writing Center publishes the other first-party AI position located here, and it too is about student use rather than detection (page's own modified date August 26, 2025; retrieved Aug 31, 2026): “The Writing Center will not knowingly assist with writing that violates course or institutional academic honesty policies.”
Two tool names that appear but are not deployments
GPTZero and Packback each appear once on missouristate.edu, in a Faculty Center blog post by a staff author (published January 18, 2023, page's own modified date January 16, 2025; retrieved Aug 31, 2026), which describes GPTZero as an app “a student from Princeton University has already developed” and Packback as “a platform commonly used to promote student inquiry in discussion.” Source: Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Its Impact on the Classroom — FCTL blog. Provenance stated because the distinction matters: this is a page published by a Missouri State centre mentioning third-party tools, not a statement that the university licenses or deploys either one. Neither is recorded here as a deployment.
Scope of the search behind the absence stated above: no AI-writing detection tool was located in this review across the named vendors (Turnitin including the AI writing indicator and the SimCheck and Originality product names, Copyleaks, iThenticate, GPTZero, Originality.ai, Winston AI, Crossplag, ZeroGPT, Packback, Grammarly Authorship, Honorlock, Proctorio, Respondus and Examity), the Faculty Center's Brightspace resources and assessment-tools pages, the Faculty Center's Teaching with AI page, the Writing Center's AI policy, the Academic Integrity site, the Graduate College's thesis and dissertation resources, and the university library's research guides. No campus-wide statement enabling or disabling AI detection was located in that search, in either direction, and no graduate-only or dissertation-scoped text-matching pipeline — the iThenticate pattern documented at some other institutions — was located either.
What Missouri State's own documents say about how cases proceed
- Who may be present
- “Both the student against whom an allegation has been lodged and the teacher have the right to be assisted by an advisor they choose at their own expense. This advisor may be an attorney. The student/teacher is responsible for presenting his or her own information and, therefore, advisors are not permitted to speak or to participate directly in any hearing. It is the responsibility of the student/teacher to request AIC Chair approval for the advisor at least 48 hours prior to the hearing.” The policy adds an observer provision: “at the student's request, the Chair may permit a student's parent(s) or legal guardian(s) and/or spouse to observe and may permit a limited number of additional observers.” Two scope limits are worth reading beside those sentences: the advisor provision attaches to the Academic Integrity Panel hearing, and the policy states no right to an advisor or support person at the earlier teacher-student meeting, which is where most matters begin and end; and on recording, not stated in the sources reviewed — the policy was read in full for a provision permitting or prohibiting a student's own audio or video recording of the hearing, and none appears, while the only note-taking provision is an institutional one, “plus an assistant to document the hearing (optional).” — Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures, section “Academic Integrity Hearing” (document approved by the President August 14, 2023; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) · Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures (PDF)
- What follows on the record
- “issuing a failing course grade of 'XF', which indicates that this failing grade was due to academic dishonesty. The grade 'XF' shall be treated as an 'F' grade for the purposes of grade point average, course repeatability, and determination of academic standing.” The policy provides a route to removal: “After a period of one year has elapsed since the grade of 'XF' was imposed, a person who has received a grade of 'XF' (whether or not currently enrolled as a student at Missouri State University) may file a written petition (form) to the AIC to have the grade of 'XF' removed from the transcript and permanently replaced with the grade of 'F'.” Suspension and dismissal are notated separately — “a notation will be made on the student's transcript that the suspension or dismissal was for reasons of academic dishonesty” — and no removal route for that notation is published. On retention: “Academic integrity records shall be permanently maintained by the Office of the Provost.” On disclosure to graduate programs, employers or licensing boards: not stated in the sources reviewed. The policy was read in full and the Academic Integrity site's student pages with it; what the policy does address is disclosure inside the university, to the academic unit or program director of a student's own major or program. — Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures, sections “Teacher Sanctions,” “Academic Integrity Council Sanctions/Recommendations” and the records provisions (document approved by the President August 14, 2023; retrieved Aug 31, 2026); the policy governs undergraduate and graduate students alike · Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures (PDF)
The two questions an adviser raises first, answered from this institution’s own published documents — or recorded as not stated in them.
How a matter starts. The policy (approved by the President August 14, 2023; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) routes the first stage to a meeting between the instructor and the student, and closes one door at the outset:
Notification, and what the student receives:
The standard of proof, which differs by who initiated the matter — both formulations appear in the same document:
What an instructor may impose, and what the Council may:
The appeal path and its windows, in the policy's own words, and one limit on what an appeal can reach:
And a protection that runs while an appeal is pending:
Source for all six blocks above: Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures. The same document sets further windows the reader will meet in sequence — a hearing notice at least four days out, a review request within 15 academic days of the Council's written decision, an appeal of suspension or dismissal to the President within 10 academic days — and provides for witnesses, interpreters and participation by videoconference on 48 hours' pre-approval. Located but not captured as quotation here: the reporting and appeal routes are forms hosted on a third-party conduct-management system linked from the Academic Integrity pages, and the forms' own content was not read in this review. Any date above is quoted from the policy, not a deadline calculation performed for you. What any of this means for a particular case is for the institution and its process to determine.
Where the documents live
| Document | Location |
|---|---|
| Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures — reporting, meeting, hearing, standards, sanctions, appeals, records; governs undergraduate and graduate students | missouristate.edu — Op3.01 (PDF) (approved by the President Aug 14, 2023; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| Academic Integrity (landing page) — the reporting route | missouristate.edu — Academic Integrity (page's own modified date Apr 30, 2024; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| Academic Integrity — Student Resources (appeal steps and contacts) | missouristate.edu — Student Resources (page's own modified date Nov 4, 2025; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| Assessment Tools — documents Turnitin in Brightspace and Respondus proctoring | missouristate.edu — FCTL Assessment Tools (page's own modified date Apr 23, 2026; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| Teaching with AI — the university's central faculty AI guidance, naming no detector | missouristate.edu — Teaching with AI (page's own modified date Apr 22, 2026; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| AI Policy & the Writing Center | writingcenter.missouristate.edu — AI Policy (page's own modified date Aug 26, 2025; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| Faculty Center blog post mentioning GPTZero and Packback — recorded with its provenance, not as a deployment | blogs.missouristate.edu — AI and Its Impact on the Classroom (published Jan 18, 2023; page's own modified date Jan 16, 2025; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| Record retention and transcript treatment — the XF grade, the removal petition, the suspension notation (in the policy above) | Op3.01, sanctions and records provisions (approved Aug 14, 2023; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| Academic Integrity office — 417-836-6673 · AcademicIntegrity@MissouriState.edu · 901 S National Ave, Springfield, MO 65897; no building or room published | missouristate.edu — Contact Information (page's own modified date Jul 21, 2025; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
| The Ombuds Office — independence and scope statements; office email and two named representatives; no central phone or office location published | missouristate.edu — The Ombuds Office (page's own modified date Jan 30, 2026; retrieved Aug 31, 2026) |
Organizing your own drafts and records to bring to any of this: the records checklist. Capturing the pages above as they read today, and keeping your own dated record beside them: what to do with these sources.
Revision history of this page
2026-08-29 — Page created. All quotations retrieved this date, first-party, from the missouristate.edu pages and PDF linked beside them. Source page dates: the Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures PDF carries a 2023 cover year, an approval line reading “Approved by President: August 14, 2023,” and a revision history running from Board of Governors approval on February 18, 2000 through Spring 2014; the Faculty Center's assessment-tools page carries a modified date of April 23, 2026 and its Teaching with AI page April 22, 2026; the Writing Center's AI policy August 26, 2025; the Academic Integrity contact page July 21, 2025, its student-resources page November 4, 2025 and its landing page April 30, 2024; the Ombuds Office page January 30, 2026; the Faculty Center blog post was published January 18, 2023 and carries a modified date of January 16, 2025.
2026-08-29 — Detection sweep recorded. Named-vendor sweep: Turnitin (including the AI writing indicator and the SimCheck and Originality product names), Copyleaks, iThenticate, GPTZero, Originality.ai, Winston AI, Crossplag, ZeroGPT, Packback, Grammarly Authorship, Honorlock, Proctorio, Respondus and Examity were searched against missouristate.edu. Two came back positive as institutional deployments: Turnitin, documented as plagiarism detection an instructor enables per assignment in Brightspace, and Respondus (LockDown Browser, Monitor and Respondus 4, documented as proctoring and exam authoring with no AI-writing-detection claim). GPTZero and Packback returned a single hit each, in the Faculty Center blog post recorded above with its provenance. All other vendors came back empty. Category sweep: Missouri State's learning-management system is Brightspace, and the Faculty Center's Brightspace resource pages are the closest published equivalent to an integration catalogue; they list Turnitin and Respondus and no detector beyond them. The Graduate College's thesis and dissertation resources name no similarity or plagiarism screening step. The proctoring stack is Respondus alone. The Faculty Center's Teaching with AI page — the university's central faculty AI guidance — names no detection tool of any kind. The library's research guides surfaced no detector and no adapted-from-another-institution provenance note. Step-2 disqualification check: pass. No Missouri State page disables AI detection or recommends against it, and none states that an AI-writing detector is enabled; the detection inventory is not empty, since Turnitin and Respondus are both documented deployments, and the absence of any first-party statement on AI-writing detection is recorded above as the finding rather than resolved by inference in either direction. Deliberate omissions. Third-party tracker, vendor-blog and student-press claims about Missouri State were disregarded as unverified and are neither quoted nor linked. Nothing on this page derives from the University of Missouri or the UM System, which are separate institutions.
2026-08-29 — Uncaptured, and one item deliberately not quoted. The Policy Library's HTML renderings of this policy and of its procedures summary (Op3.01 and Op3.02 in Chapter 3) were not fetched in this review; every policy quotation above comes from the captured PDF instead, so no quotation here rests on an unread page. One sentence about the XF grade surfaced only as a search snippet from the Op3.02 summary page and is deliberately not quoted or paraphrased here, because it was not captured. A second, apparently older “Student Ombudsman” page exists under the Student Success path; it was not captured, its relationship to the President's Ombuds Office is unresolved, and nothing on this page rests on it. The reporting and appeal forms are hosted on a third-party conduct-management system and were not opened. The Faculty Center's Teaching with AI page renders part of its content through client-side scripting; the substantive guidance captured cleanly and only a faculty-profile carousel did not, and nothing is quoted from the uncaptured portion. All four items are paraphrase-pending and need a manual read before promotion. Missouri State–West Plains maintains its own separate academic-integrity pages; this page is scoped to the Springfield campus and does not cover them.
2026-08-29 — Absences recorded at the scope actually searched. No provision permitting or prohibiting a student's own recording of a hearing appears in the policy. No right to an advisor or support person at the teacher-student meeting stage is published; the advisor provision attaches to the panel hearing. No provision on disclosure of academic-integrity records to graduate programs, employers or licensing boards is published. No route to removal of a suspension or dismissal transcript notation is published, though one is published for the XF grade. The Academic Integrity office publishes a phone number, an email address and a campus mailing address but no building or room, and the docket says so. The Ombuds Office publishes no central phone number and no office location, and the docket says so rather than substituting a university switchboard number. Internet Archive captures: to be added. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter (review confirmed 2026-08-29).
2026-08-31 — First source re-verification since publication; automated pass, no human review claimed. Every quoted source re-fetched and found unchanged, each quotation verbatim: the FCTL Assessment Tools page (the Turnitin plagiarism-detection sentence and both Respondus sentences; page still modified April 23, 2026), the FCTL Teaching with AI page (the sample syllabus-statement sentence; still modified April 22, 2026), the Writing Center AI policy (its one quoted sentence; still modified August 26, 2025), the FCTL blog post (the GPTZero and Packback mentions, still recorded with provenance, not as deployments), the Student Academic Integrity Policies and Procedures PDF re-read in full (advisor/attorney and observer provisions, the anonymous-reports and meeting sentences, the two evidentiary formulations and the “not a trial” sentence, the teacher- and Council-sanction lists, the XF grade and its one-year removal petition, the suspension/dismissal notation, the permanent-retention provision, the 5- and 15-academic-day appeal windows, the “sanction of the teacher can not be appealed” and continue-attending provisions; still “Approved by President: August 14, 2023”), the Ombuds page (the independence description and the no-grievance/no-advocacy limits, plus the Ombuds@MissouriState.edu email and the Chris Herr 417-576-6444 / Mary Bohlen 417-771-0102 representatives), and the Academic Integrity contact page (417-836-6673, AcademicIntegrity@MissouriState.edu). Retrieval dates advanced to Aug 31. FETCH NOTE: the policy PDF returns HTTP 406 to a text/html Accept header and 200 to an application/pdf one; this is a fetch-negotiation quirk, not a change at the source. Detection inventory (named-vendor + category sweeps) re-run: Turnitin and Respondus remain the only documented deployments, neither claimed as an AI-writing detector; GPTZero and Packback still appear only in the blog post; no campus-wide statement enabling or disabling AI detection was located — the section-01 absence stands. Still paraphrase-pending and unquoted, as at build: the Op3.01/Op3.02 Policy Library HTML renderings, the third-party conduct-management forms, and the older “Student Ombudsman” page. No captures requested this pass.
Spot an error or an outdated quotation? hello@gatheredwork.com — corrections are made on the record, in this log.