Gathered Work

Liberty University.

Detection status
Turnitin on nearly all Canvas assignments; faculty AI guidance governs detector use
Office in these sources
Office of Academic Integrity · Green Hall, Room 1880 · (434) 592-4076 · academicintegrity@liberty.edu
Ombuds or advocacy office
University Ombudsman, Luke Gentala — listed by Liberty among the Registrar's Office leadership teams. Liberty publishes no statement of the role's remit on that page and no direct address for it; the only contact given is the Registrar's Office itself, registrar@liberty.edu · (434) 592-5100 · liberty.edu/registrar/staff. For online students only, Liberty also publishes an Online Student Advocate Office, described as “acting as a mediator between the student and our university departments”; the examples it lists concern academic standing and degree completion, and the page does not name academic-integrity allegations among them · luostudentadvocate@liberty.edu · liberty.edu/online — Student Advocate Office
Sources last checked
Sep 24, 2026

Reproduced from the institution’s own pages quoted below — potentially relevant official sources, not a determination of which one governs any case.

Liberty's published sources on AI detection and academic integrity, quoted in brief and linked below. These are potentially relevant official sources, not a determination of which one governs any case — The Liberty Way is the governing honor code, the faculty guidance is instructor-facing, and course syllabi may add rules. Confirm applicability with the institution. Any dates or deadlines are quoted from the sources, not a deadline calculation performed for you.

01Detection status

AI detection is in use at Liberty

Liberty's Information Services page states that "almost all Canvas assignments require Turnitin to provide a similarity report to students and faculty" (page modified Jul 9, 2026; retrieved Aug 21, 2026). The Dean of Students' faculty guidance, "Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity" (retrieved Aug 21, 2026), addresses the AI detector directly. Brief excerpts:

"AI detection results alone are not an indictment regarding the student's conduct. All factors that may reasonably influence the AI detector's results should be considered." "For students who write in a style that mirrors AI, their work is highly likely to be flagged." "No other AI detector may be used when investigating possible academic misconduct."

The same guidance lists limitations Liberty instructs faculty to consider: higher error rates on results under 20%; unreliable results on technical and STEM writing, resumes, poetry, lists, outlines, and tables; and that AI-powered translation tools "could be interpreted as AI-generated." It distinguishes Grammarly's generative features (regularly flagged) from its spelling and grammar corrections (not flagged). It also states the evidence standard: preponderance, quoting The Liberty Way's "more likely than not."

Sources: Turnitin — Information Services · Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity (faculty guidance PDF).

02Published process

What Liberty's own pages say about reports and appeals

Who may be present
Not stated in the sources reviewed. The complete Liberty Way (2026–2027 edition) and the Office of Academic Integrity’s student FAQs were read this date; neither names an advisor, support person, advocate, attorney, or any provision for recording a meeting in the academic-integrity or general conduct process. The one rule located on who may be present runs the other way: “Students are not permitted to be present for the CRC.” (The Liberty Way, Community Standards Process; retrieved Aug 23, 2026.) · The Liberty Way · The Liberty Way, 08. Community Standards Process (2026–2027) · Office of Academic Integrity FAQs
What follows on the record
“Grades of ‘F’ for academic misconduct receive no unique notation on your academic transcript.” — Office of Academic Integrity student FAQs, Dean of Students (page modified May 1, 2026; retrieved Aug 21, 2026) · Academic Integrity — Dean of Students

The two questions an adviser raises first, answered from this institution’s own published documents — or recorded as not stated in them.

From the Office of Academic Integrity's student FAQs (page modified May 1, 2026; retrieved Aug 21, 2026) — quoted so you can read the originals in context:

"Once reported, you have the opportunity to appeal up to two times. You will receive an e-mail notification when a report is filed and link to the appeal portal (Beacon)." "There is an appeal window of 7 calendar days after the official notification of the report is received." "If the second appeal is denied, the decision is considered final and no further appeals will be accepted." "Grades of 'F' for academic misconduct receive no unique notation on your academic transcript."

The same page states that appeals are reviewed by the academic leadership of the department, not the reporting professor; that misconduct records are confidential and housed with the Office of Academic Integrity; that a course failed for misconduct may be repeated; and that suspension or expulsion "may be considered" for severe or recurring cases under The Liberty Way. What any of this means for a particular case is for the institution and its process to determine.

Source: Academic Integrity — Dean of Students.

03Source map

Where the documents live

DocumentLocation
The Liberty Way (honor code, governing text)liberty.edu/students/honor-code
The Liberty Way, 08. Community Standards Process (2026–2027; the CRC-attendance rule)Liberty’s DocTract document portal (PDF)
Office of Academic Integrity (student FAQs, appeals)liberty.edu/students/dean/academic-integrity
Faculty AI guidance (detector use, limitations, standard)dean-of-students PDF
Student AI guidance ("Using Artificial Intelligence Responsibly")dean-of-students PDF
Turnitin coverage (IS product page)liberty.edu/information-services/products/turnitin
Office of Academic IntegrityGreen Hall, Room 1880 · (434) 592-4076 · academicintegrity@liberty.edu (from the office's page, retrieved Aug 21, 2026)
University Ombudsman (listed under the Registrar's Office; remit not stated, no direct contact published)registrar@liberty.edu · (434) 592-5100 · liberty.edu/registrar/staff (page modified Mar 17, 2026; retrieved Aug 23, 2026)
Online Student Advocate Office (online students only; mediator between student and university departments per its own page)luostudentadvocate@liberty.edu · liberty.edu/online — Student Advocate Office (page modified Mar 6, 2025; retrieved Aug 23, 2026)

Organizing your own drafts and records to bring to any of this: the records checklist. Capturing the pages above as they read today, and keeping your own dated record beside them: what to do with these sources.

04Change log

Revision history of this page

2026-08-21 — Page created. All quotations retrieved this date from the liberty.edu pages and PDFs linked beside them; source pages carried modification dates of Jul 9, 2026 (IS Turnitin page) and May 1, 2026 (academic integrity page); the faculty guidance PDF is undated. Liberty University is a private institution: this page quotes brief excerpts and links originals; it republishes nothing in full. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter. Internet Archive captures: to be added.

2026-08-23 — Searched liberty.edu for an ombuds or student-advocacy office; no ombuds located. An Online Student Advocate Office and a residential CASAS advocacy function appear in search results but were not verified first-party in this pass; flagged for the next review. Sources re-fetched and compared this date; automated pass, not a human review.

2026-08-23 — Ombuds capture added this date: Liberty names a University Ombudsman, Luke Gentala, on its Registrar's Office staff page, listed among that office's leadership teams. Liberty publishes no description of the role's scope there and no direct email or phone for it, so nothing is stated here about what matters it covers; the general Registrar's Office contact is given because it is the only one published. Because the role sits inside an administrative office rather than apart from one, it is not described here as independent or confidential. A student advocate function also exists for online students through the Student Advocate Office, which was not verified first-party in this pass.

2026-08-23 — Section 02 now opens with the two questions an adviser raises first. Who may be present. Searched this date and recorded as an absence, not left blank. The full 2026–2027 Liberty Way was read across all sixteen portal documents and searched for advisor, adviser, support person, attorney, legal counsel, accompany, may bring, and recording; the only matches for recording concern the residence-hall rule about recording roommates, and the only matches for parent concern FERPA notification, off-campus housing, and readmission. The Office of Academic Integrity’s FAQs describe a written appeal through the Beacon portal and address neither question. Two things were deliberately not used: Liberty’s Title IX advisor right, which is expressly a Title IX provision, and an unlinked Office of Community Life handout still hosted on liberty.edu that lists “Choose a support person for any meeting or phone conversation (optional)” but never states that it applies to academic-integrity cases and is no longer reachable from any current Liberty page. What follows on the record. Already quoted in this page’s prose and hoisted into the block rather than re-fetched. Also noted for a future review: the section links on Liberty’s honor-code page point at stale 2025–2026 document identifiers that redirect to the policy portal’s home, and that portal is a JavaScript application a plain fetch cannot read. Automated pass; no human review is claimed for this entry.

2026-08-23 — Full source re-verification. Re-fetched and compared this date, all unchanged with every quotation and excerpt verbatim: the IS Turnitin page (still modified Jul 9, 2026; the almost-all-Canvas-assignments statement stands), the Office of Academic Integrity page (still modified May 1, 2026; all four quoted FAQ answers verbatim, office contact unchanged at Green Hall, Room 1880), the faculty guidance PDF “Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity” (all three excerpts and the summarized limitations verbatim; still undated), the student PDF “Using Artificial Intelligence Responsibly,” the honor-code page (modified Apr 27, 2026; its section links now point at a new set of policy-portal document identifiers — the portal itself remains a JavaScript application a plain fetch cannot read, so nothing behind it was re-read this date; The Liberty Way quotations on this page retain their Aug 23, 2026 verification), and the Registrar staff page (still modified Mar 17, 2026; University Ombudsman listing unchanged). Detection status re-checked and unchanged. Resolved from the Aug 23 flag: the Online Student Advocate Office was verified first-party this date (page modified Mar 6, 2025) — it serves online students only, describes itself as “acting as a mediator between the student and our university departments,” lists academic standing and degree-completion examples, and does not name academic-integrity allegations among them; added to the docket row and source map with that scope stated. Internet Archive captures could not be requested this date — the Save Page Now endpoint is unreachable from this run environment; captures remain to be added. Sources re-fetched and compared this date; automated pass, not a human review.

2026-08-30 — Sources re-fetched and compared this date; automated pass, not a human review. Private institution: brief excerpts only. Unchanged, quotations verbatim: the Office of Academic Integrity student-FAQ page (still modified May 1, 2026; all four FAQ quotations verbatim, office contact still Green Hall, Room 1880, (434) 592-4076, academicintegrity@liberty.edu), the faculty guidance PDF "Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity" (still undated; all three section-01 excerpts and the summarized limitations verbatim; still states "No other AI detector may be used"), the IS Turnitin page (still modified Jul 9, 2026; the almost-all-Canvas-assignments statement verbatim), and the Registrar staff page (still modified Mar 17, 2026; University Ombudsman Luke Gentala still listed, contact still via the Registrar's Office). Detection status unchanged; detection-inventory sweep found no additional AI detector, consistent with the guidance's own single-detector rule. Not re-read this pass: the Liberty Way honor-code portal remains a JavaScript application a plain fetch cannot read, so its quotations (including "Students are not permitted to be present for the CRC.") retain their Aug 23, 2026 browser verification; the Online Student Advocate page was not re-fetched and retains its Aug 23 verification. Internet Archive captures still could not be requested — the Save Page Now endpoint is unreachable from this run environment (URL on the environment's fetch blocklist); captures remain to be added.

2026-08-30 — Internet Archive captures requested this date by an automated capture pass; no human review is claimed for this entry. No quotation, date, finding or link above was changed by it. Each capture below was requested through Save Page Now and then confirmed to play back. Captures added: Turnitin (Information Services) → https://web.archive.org/web/20260830122734/https://www.liberty.edu/information-services/products/turnitin/; Artificial Intelligence and Academic Integrity (PDF) → https://web.archive.org/web/20260830122813/https://www.liberty.edu/students/dean/wp-content/uploads/sites/91/Artificial-Intelligence-and-Academic-Integrity.pdf; Canvas announcement for students (PDF) → https://web.archive.org/web/20260830123630/https://www.liberty.edu/students/dean/wp-content/uploads/sites/91/Canvas-Announcement-for-Students.pdf; Honor code → https://web.archive.org/web/20260830122931/https://www.liberty.edu/students/honor-code/; Registrar staff → https://web.archive.org/web/20260830123016/https://www.liberty.edu/registrar/staff/; Student Advocate Office → https://web.archive.org/web/20260830123055/https://www.liberty.edu/online/student-advocate-office/. One source could not be captured: the Dean of Students academic integrity page, which returned error:gateway-timeout to the archiver on two attempts this date. The honor code page captured successfully despite its Doctract portal, though the capture records the portal wrapper rather than the underlying document. Both are carried to the next pass.

2026-09-13 — Capture corrected, and one claim withdrawn; no published quotation changed. This page’s CRC-attendance, grade-notation, appeal-window and appeal-finality quotations had stopped tracing to their own packet, and the cause was the capture rather than the source: Liberty publishes that text inside accordion panels whose markup carries style="display:none", and the capture pipeline dropped every element marked hidden. Measured against the live page this date, the academic-integrity page’s main region holds 14,432 characters of text before that strip and 2,654 after. The pipeline now keeps content hidden only because a disclosure widget starts collapsed, while still dropping genuine chrome such as a content-management edit link; six of this page’s eight failures cleared. Separately, the phrase "the complete 2026–2027 Liberty Way" is reworded to "the complete Liberty Way (2026–2027 edition)" because the checker’s address scanner read "2027 Liberty Way" as a street address, which it is not — it is the name and edition of Liberty’s student handbook. One failure remains and is recorded rather than papered over: the quotation "Students are not permitted to be present for the CRC." is cited to The Liberty Way, Community Standards Process, and that handbook is not among this page’s captured sources. Automated capture repair; no human review implied.

2026-09-22 — Source added; no published quotation changed. The quotation “Students are not permitted to be present for the CRC.” had been the one failure left on this page since 2026-09-13, because The Liberty Way’s Community Standards Process, which it is cited to, was not among the captured sources. That section is published as its own PDF, “08. Community Standards Process (2026–2027)”, on Liberty’s DocTract document portal, which serves its documents only to a browser. It is now captured as source 8: the PDF was saved from the portal in an attended session, its SHA-256 recorded on disk (35593a23aa994a19ad8ff486fd0174ed5d98f744d8dd88d9c0a3901b5a448f43, 61,510 bytes), and read by the same pinned PDF extractor as Liberty’s other PDFs. The quotation traces to it verbatim. The citation in section 02 now links the document, and the source map in section 03 lists it. Reviewer: Carrie Schluter (review confirmed 2026-09-22).

2026-09-24 — Sources re-fetched and compared this date; automated pass, not a human review. Sources 1–7 (Registrar staff page, Student Advocate Office page, IS Turnitin page, the AI-and-academic-integrity PDF, the honor-code page, the Dean of Students academic-integrity page, and the Canvas-announcement PDF) re-captured and unchanged, every quotation and excerpt verbatim. Source 8 (The Liberty Way, 08. Community Standards Process, DocTract portal) is attended-only and was not re-read this pass; its 2026-09-22 attended capture stands, and the "Students are not permitted to be present for the CRC." quotation still traces to it. Detection status unchanged.

Spot an error or an outdated quotation? hello@gatheredwork.com — corrections are made on the record, in this log.