The institutions.
One page per institution: its published academic-integrity sources on AI detection — quoted, dated, linked to the originals, and kept under a visible change log. Each page presents potentially relevant official sources; none determines which policy governs a case, calculates a deadline, or recommends an argument. The collection began with a five-institution pilot and grows as new pages clear review.
01
Pages
| Institution | Detection status, per its own pages | Last checked |
|---|---|---|
| University at Buffalo | Turnitin AI detection available on UB Learns assignments, enterprise-wide | Aug 30, 2026 |
| Liberty University | Turnitin on nearly all Canvas assignments; faculty AI guidance governs detector use | Aug 30, 2026 |
| Western Governors University | Background AI detection in the similarity checker; overt-evidence standard; evaluator review | Aug 30, 2026 |
| Adelphi University | Turnitin via Moodle; Turnitin-only rule for GenAI reports; score alone not sufficient evidence | Aug 30, 2026 |
| UC Davis | Turnitin similarity in Canvas; no campus-wide AI-indicator statement located; course-level AI rules | Aug 30, 2026 |
| University of North Georgia | Turnitin similarity review per the Supplemental Syllabus; no campus-wide AI-indicator statement located; AI rules set per professor | Aug 31, 2026 |
| Arizona State University | Turnitin in Canvas per provost faculty resources; no campus-wide AI-indicator statement located; instructor-level AI rules | Aug 31, 2026 |
| Texas A&M University | University advises against sole reliance on AI detectors; Turnitin reports listed as violation-report documentation; per-instructor GenAI rules under Student Rule 20 | Aug 31, 2026 |
| University of Central Florida | Turnitin similarity per faculty-center pages; unauthorized AI use framed as plagiarism and named in the Student Code of Conduct; no campus-wide AI-indicator statement located | Aug 31, 2026 |
| The Ohio State University | Turnitin Feedback Studio confirmed enterprise-wide; no campus-wide AI-indicator statement located; COAM requires instructor permission for GenAI use | Aug 31, 2026 |
| Florida International University | Turnitin AI Indicator trainings run by the Division of IT (most recently Jan 2026); no campus-wide statement located on evidentiary use of scores | Aug 31, 2026 |
| University of South Florida | Turnitin described by USF as its plagiarism-detection system, similarity reports; university genAI guidance states AI detection is "not reliably possible with technology"; no AI-indicator statement located; instructor-level AI rules | Aug 24, 2026 |
| University of Cincinnati | Turnitin embedded in Canvas; central AI guidance says instructors "should not over rely" on detectors; Student Code of Conduct names "unauthorized use of artificial intelligence" as cheating; no AI-indicator statement located | Sep 2, 2026 |
| University of Houston | Institutional Turnitin license in Canvas, described by UH as including an AI-detection tool; no campus-wide statement on its evidentiary use located; Academic Honesty Policy names no AI category | Aug 25, 2026 |
| University of North Texas | Turnitin AI detection reports in Canvas, documented by DSI CLEAR and listed by the Office of Academic Integrity; UNT Libraries states a detection report alone "is not sufficient evidence" for a violation | Aug 25, 2026 |
| Utah Valley University | Copyleaks plagiarism and AI content detection in Canvas per OTL guides; Faculty Senate noted AI false positives (Apr 2025); no statement located on evidentiary use of scores | Aug 24, 2026 |
| California State University, Fullerton | Turnitin similarity in Canvas; no AI-writing report documented in CSUF's Canvas guides; Faculty Development Center warns detector use can result in false accusations | Sep 2, 2026 |
| University of Georgia | Turnitin AI Writing Detector confirmed first-party as CTL's sole approved detector for eLC assignments; CTL states scores are not "a definitive measure of misconduct"; no statement located on evidentiary use of scores | Sep 2, 2026 |
| Georgia State University | Turnitin Originality Checker (iCollege-wide license) includes AI detection; CETLOE states "Detector results alone should never be treated as proof of misconduct"; using results in discipline requires AI Committee consultation | Aug 27, 2026 |
| California State University, Long Beach | Turnitin AI writing detection confirmed first-party in Canvas via ATS/DoIT; guidance cautions it "should not be used as a definitive judgment of plagiarism"; no statement located on its evidentiary use in OSCED proceedings | Aug 27, 2026 |
| Texas Tech University | Turnitin's SimCheck AI score available in Canvas; TLPDC and the Office of Student Conduct advise "extreme caution," stating a detector report is not sole evidence but may support an incident report | Aug 27, 2026 |
| California State University, Northridge | Turnitin AI detection confirmed first-party via IT-hosted faculty training and the Provost/OSCED guidance memo; OSCED states an AI-detection score alone is not sufficient evidence for disciplinary action | Aug 27, 2026 |
| North Carolina State University | Turnitin's AI Detection report re-enabled and documented first-party in Moodle (DELTA/IT, Fall 2025); Office of Student Conduct will not accept referrals based solely on the Similarity Score Index | Aug 27, 2026 |
| University of Arkansas | Turnitin AI Writing Detection available to all instructors, with the integrity office publishing its own thresholds and corroborating factors before a report is filed; Honorlock documented for fully online exams, with Respondus LockDown Browser with Monitor recommended by the same office for other classes | Aug 27, 2026 |
| Louisiana State University | Turnitin AI writing detection listed among LSU's licensed Turnitin products and confirmed by the conduct office; iThenticate adds AI writing detection on the research side; Faculty Senate–endorsed guidelines state faculty "must not rely on outputs from such tools alone to report or penalize students" | Aug 27, 2026 |
| Texas State University | Turnitin plagiarism and AI writing detection reports available to faculty; the Honor Code Council states the score "cannot be the sole evidence of academic misconduct when submitting an Honor Code violation" and lists the corroborating observations it expects instead; the Council states it "receives information from TopHat," and names Proctorio and ProctorU as proctoring options without their deployment being captured here | Aug 27, 2026 |
| San José State University | Turnitin similarity and AI Writing Detection documented in Canvas, with a Turnitin Clarity pilot for Spring 2026; university policy S26-10 permits only university-approved detection services and states academic sanctions "may not be imposed based solely on the results of the university-approved AI-detection software" | Aug 27, 2026 |
| Temple University | Turnitin AI Detector licensed university-wide but enabled only on faculty request after training; the teaching centre states detectors are "not a viable solution" and the tool "often inaccurate"; Proctorio also documented for online exams | Aug 27, 2026 |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley | Turnitin AI writing detection documented in Brightspace, with UTRGV's IT knowledge base stating its analysis "should not be used as the sole determinant of academic misconduct"; Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor proctoring also integrated | Aug 28, 2026 |
| The University of Texas at Dallas | Turnitin held under a university subscription and usable inside eLearning; UT Dallas describes it centrally as a plagiarism detection service, and its AI-writing detection is named only in a 2024 Center for Teaching and Learning teaching-tip post, not in central policy. MOSS software-similarity checking is documented for engineering areas and Respondus Monitor for remote exam proctoring | Aug 28, 2026 |
| Florida Atlantic University | Turnitin AI writing detection announced for Canvas assignments in 2023 and trained on in 2024; FAU's current Turnitin page names only similarity checking; Honorlock proctoring on a departmental license | Aug 28, 2026 |
| Weber State University | Copyleaks plagiarism and AI content detection among WSU Online's approved Canvas tools; CETL states some detection software “may unfairly penalize students or be ineffective at detecting AI use”; Honorlock proctoring documents no general AI blocking; no institution-level Turnitin documentation located | Aug 28, 2026 |
| Clemson University | Turnitin AI-generated content detection in Canvas assignments and Respondus Monitor AI-powered checking, both documented by Clemson Online; iThenticate similarity review of every graduate thesis and dissertation manuscript; Undergraduate Learning's October 2025 guidance states that AI detector results alone are not sufficient to support an academic integrity charge | Aug 28, 2026 |
| Northern Arizona University | Turnitin Originality named by the Office of the Provost as “NAU's industry-leading licensed solution,” in the same sentence that says detector results “cannot be considered as definitive evidence of an academic integrity violation”; Verity documented as an AI-enabled proctoring service; Cline Library's guide adds that a detector's evaluation is “insufficient evidence” on its own; no NAU page names a Turnitin AI writing indicator as a separate feature | Aug 28, 2026 |
| Utah State University | Copyleaks, not Turnitin — USU states it has used Copyleaks “in place of Turnitin” since July 20, 2023; Copyleaks' AI Detection feature “is enabled by default” in Canvas SpeedGrader, sits outside the similarity score, and USU's own guidance tells instructors to treat it “as a data point and a conversation starter rather than proof the student cheated”; Proctorio documented for exam proctoring with no AI-writing-detection claim | Aug 28, 2026 |
| Kent State University | Turnitin available to all faculty and students through Canvas and described by Kent State as able to “identify potential plagiarism, AI-assisted writing, and inconsistencies from what would be found in a typical paper,” with the university's own caution that “A high score does not automatically indicate that the student plagiarized”; University Libraries runs a separate Turnitin draft-checking service on request; Respondus Monitor documented as the current proctoring technology, with a still-live provost page naming Proctorio; no statement on the evidentiary use of an AI score located | Aug 28, 2026 |
| California State University, Fresno | Turnitin AI Writing Detection documented as a Chancellor's Office–funded pilot enabled in summer 2025 and “enabled by default for all courses using Turnitin,” with results visible to instructors only and Fresno State's own instruction to treat a report as “a starting point, not a conclusion”; Turnitin originality checking documented separately in Canvas Assignments; Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor in the proctoring stack; the pilot's end is not stated on any page located | Aug 28, 2026 |
| Old Dominion University | Turnitin integrated with Canvas, with ODU's own academic-technology page stating “the AI checker is not reliable!” and that it “often provides false positives”; the 2025-26 Academic Integrity Procedures state the AI Checker percentage alone does not determine a violation but “will be considered with all other evidence”; Respondus and SmarterProctoring documented in the proctoring stack; third-party detectors listed to faculty as tools to be familiar with, not as ODU deployments | Aug 29, 2026 |
| University of Memphis | Turnitin AI writing detection available through the Canvas integration, campus-wide | Aug 29, 2026 |
| Middle Tennessee State University | Turnitin documented institutionally for plagiarism checks only, and named as required documentation on a plagiarism referral; no MTSU page documents an AI-writing detector in institutional use, and the one MTSU page directing faculty to AI detectors is a college IT services list of free third-party tools that also calls them “not something that we can rely on as faculty” | Aug 28, 2026 |
| Kennesaw State University | Turnitin listed as available including its AI features and enabled in D2L Brightspace; iThenticate for research papers; Respondus Monitor proctoring | Aug 29, 2026 |
| Auburn University | Turnitin (Canvas, enterprise) and iThenticate (research writing) licensed; AI-detection use not stated in Auburn's own pages | Aug 29, 2026 |
| Virginia Commonwealth University | Turnitin documented for similarity only — no VCU page names an AI-writing indicator; Respondus Monitor webcam video analytics licensed to all faculty, staff and students; the CTLE states the accuracy of GenAI-detection tools “is not guaranteed” and bars uploading student work to one absent a VCU contract | Aug 29, 2026 |
| East Carolina University | Turnitin runs in Canvas, but ECU's own Turnitin service page and FAQ describe similarity checking and the ETS e-rater grammar tool only and name no AI-writing indicator; ECU's AI site asks faculty to weigh "mistrust and surveillance" before using AI detection technologies while leaving the choice to them; Respondus LockDown Browser and Respondus Monitor are deployed for exam proctoring and are not described by ECU as AI detection | Aug 29, 2026 |
| Ohio University | Turnitin selected centrally as the university's plagiarism detection technology through 2030 and built into Canvas, described by the university's own pages as a similarity checker; no institutional statement enabling Turnitin's AI-writing detection was located, and the teaching centre's published position statement calls AI detection "a flawed technology"; Proctorio is the OIT-supported online proctoring tool as of July 1, 2026, with Respondus LockDown Browser also available | Aug 29, 2026 |
| Georgia Southern University | Turnitin runs inside Folio at instructor discretion, documented by the university as OriginalityCheck similarity only — no Georgia Southern page located in this review names a Turnitin AI writing indicator; iThenticate is scoped to faculty researchers and graduate thesis and dissertation committees, with student accounts unavailable; Respondus LockDown Browser and Respondus Monitor are available through Folio; the university's 2025 AI policy leaves the use of "language detection tools, proctoring tools, process analytic tools" to each course's own syllabus statement | Aug 29, 2026 |
| University of Maryland, College Park | Turnitin originality checking in ELMS-Canvas; no AI detector documented as deployed, and Academic Affairs advises against detectors while contemplating referrals | Aug 29, 2026 |
| Georgia Institute of Technology | Turnitin AI writing detection in Canvas and Honorlock proctoring that flags AI browser plugins, both documented first-party by OIT; no statement located on what weight a detector result carries | Aug 29, 2026 |
| Iowa State University | Turnitin (Originality, DraftCoach, Gradescope) listed first-party as a CELT-vetted Canvas tool and iThenticate licensed for theses, dissertations and grant proposals only; no ISU page located in this review states whether Turnitin's AI writing indicator is enabled, and the Office of Student Conduct tells faculty not to rely on AI-detection tools alone | Aug 31, 2026 |
| University of Kansas | Turnitin AI writing detection documented in Canvas by the Center for Teaching Excellence (used with caution, not disabled); iThenticate licensed separately through KU single sign-on; KU states it has no specific policy on generative AI in teaching and learning | Aug 31, 2026 |
| Stony Brook University | Turnitin's AI detection is documented as available and instructor-enabled per assignment in Brightspace, with the teaching centre stating that detection tools are not recommended as the sole means of determining academic dishonesty; Respondus LockDown Browser and Respondus Monitor are documented for exam proctoring | Aug 31, 2026 |
| Missouri State University | Turnitin is documented as plagiarism detection instructors can enable per assignment in Brightspace, and Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor for exam proctoring; no Missouri State page located in this review states that Turnitin's AI writing indicator is enabled, disabled or in use, and the university's own faculty AI guidance names no detection tool at all | Aug 31, 2026 |
| West Virginia University | Turnitin Originality Checking is documented as a vendor-supported tool inside eCampus, and Respondus LockDown Browser alongside it under an information-technology standard for online proctored exams; no WVU page located in this review states that Turnitin's AI writing indicator is enabled, disabled or in use, and neither the academic-integrity policy nor the Campus Student Code names any detection tool or score | Sep 1, 2026 |
| University of Delaware | No campus-wide AI-text detector documented; UD cautions educators against AI detectors; iThenticate in the graduate thesis pipeline | Sep 1, 2026 |
| University of Nebraska–Lincoln | Turnitin similarity in Canvas; CTT FAQ states UNL has no supported AI checker and does not recommend detectors; Respondus Monitor AI-flag proctoring documented | Sep 1, 2026 |
| University of Mississippi | SafeAssign text-matching documented in Blackboard, and Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor with ProctorU documented by the UM Testing Center; no AI-writing detector documented as deployed, and the units that address detection caution against it — the Libraries state they do not recommend any AI detection tool | Sep 1, 2026 |
| University of Louisville | No institutional AI-detection contract — the Delphi Center states UofL “does not hold an institutional contract with any AI detection provider,” that instructors who use such tools “do so as individuals,” and that outputs “should never serve as the sole basis for an academic integrity decision”; SafeAssign plagiarism checking and Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor proctoring documented in Blackboard; no Turnitin documentation located on UofL's pages | Sep 1, 2026 |
| Mississippi State University | Turnitin Similarity is documented as the university's academic-integrity product in Canvas, and Honorlock AI-monitored proctoring is contracted for online exams; no central Mississippi State page located in this review states whether Turnitin's AI writing detection is enabled, while Electrical and Computer Engineering syllabi state that all submitted work is filtered through Turnitin's AI writing detection tool | Aug 31, 2026 |
| San Francisco State University | Turnitin's AI-detection score discontinued campus-wide June 1, 2024 (a CSU contract change); no AI-writing detector is currently provided, but the Office of Student Conduct's own guidance still names "an Academic Integrity report from TurnItIn or other source" as acceptable evidence of AI-generated work | Sep 1, 2026 |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | Turnitin AI Check available in Canvas assignments, instructor-enabled per assignment; iThenticate, which also detects AI-generated text, available separately through the Office of Research | Sep 1, 2026 |
| Sam Houston State University | Turnitin (Feedback Studio) confirmed via Blackboard for plagiarism/similarity checking; an AI-writing indicator was documented by SHSU in 2023, not confirmed on any live SHSU page in this review | Sep 1, 2026 |
| University of Nevada, Reno | Turnitin similarity checking via WebCampus (Canvas) and on graduate thesis/dissertation manuscripts; Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor for exam proctoring, not AI-text detection; no first-party UNR page located in this review names an AI-writing-detection tool or confirms Turnitin's AI indicator | Sep 1, 2026 |
| Ball State University | SimCheck (Turnitin) plagiarism detection confirmed deployed via Canvas since at least 2021 and still referenced in current course syllabi; no first-party BSU page located in this review confirms or denies Turnitin's AI-writing-indicator feature; Respondus LockDown Browser and Monitor confirmed for exam proctoring, not AI-text detection | Sep 1, 2026 |
Your institution isn't here? Its own academic-integrity office and student handbook are the right starting points — the records checklist covers locating them. Requests: hello@gatheredwork.com.